La citadelle du château d’Oléron
A true masterpiece of defensive architecture!
The impressive citadel, built from 1630 by d’Argencourt, Clerville and later Vauban was made a listed building in June 1929.
Explore an impregnable fortress!
This majestic stronghold consists of ramparts, a triple belt of moats, ornate doorways, the relief map in the powder magazine, the arsenal and chapel, the restored superb stone and brick vaults of which shelter a monumental staircase with sloping steps that descends to sea level.
Today, far from its military vocation, the citadel is home to exhibitions, cultural events, guided visits and illuminations. The totally restored arsenal is now a 300-seater theatre. The St Nicolas powder magazine is home to the commune’s relief map.
❘ Summer season :
Guided visits, guided nocturnal visits with “Vauban”, visits in the “Little train”, family treasure hunts (accompanied or not), guided visits by boat, “Sites en Scène” (theatre, concerts) in August, open-air cinema in July & August.
❘ School holidays from Easter to October with the Maison de la Nature de l’île d’Oléron :
Giant treasure hunt “Le Trésor d’Aliénor” for families or groups.
Escape game for adults and accompanied children over 10.
Booking required at the Tourist Office in July & August; other months – 06 98 47 69 43
❘ Year-round :
Self-guided visits with free brochure (“Circuit d’interprétation du Patrimoine”) in French and English from the Tourist Office.
Artists and craftspeople, cultural programmes.
Child price : 4-6.